PeterNow PeterNow
  • Just popping in
  • Just popping in
  • Group: Registered Users
  • Posted on: 4/29 18:37
Whats wrong with my Platy? #1
Hi everyone!

Im Peter, and I'm completely new to fish keeping. My current knowledge is very limited to whatever Ive read on this forum (which is very good I think), and few other ones.

But lets get to the point!

Over a month ago we have received a Biorb Flow 30L tank for our autistic daughter (and yes I know that most of you will tell me that Biorb is not very good, but it was a present and we've been on tight budget at the time so decided to set it up, as Ive read that fish tanks are very good for autistic children- and so far, it seems to be true)

When we have received the tank, I have cleaned it up properly, washed the ceramic media, got a new filter and air stone. Ive set the tank up and its been running for a week before we have introduced fish.

We got 6x Variatus Platy (only small ones) and 1x Ghost Shrimp, as the guy in the store said that this will still be ok for 30L tank.

Since we have introduced fish to the tank, we've been doing weekly 30% water changes (using Stress Coat and Stress Zyme), but yesterday Ive performed around 50% water change as the water and ceramic media were too dirty.

Anyway, for last 1-2 weeks, 1 of my platys have started acting weird.... swimming at the bottom of the tank, swimming vertically (head up), and it seems like he is struggling to swim anyway. I was thinking that it might be a reaction to stress, as he's been bullied by other platys (not everyday, but ive noticed it few times). He also hides behind ornaments etc, and doesn't look well. He's got few white spots on his fins, but it looks more like there is some white cloudy dirt on them, if that makes sense?

Not sure whats going on but another one seems to have something similar now - whiteish cloudy spots on his fins...

Please let me know if thats something I should be concerned about?