pr6srn pr6srn
  • Just popping in
  • Just popping in
  • From Cleveland
  • Group: Registered Users Basic Membership
  • Posted on: 21/9/2016 10:21
Help and advice please #1
Hi, I'm new to keeping fish. We bought all the equipment, waited three days before adding fish. We had four platy fish in a 27 litre tank. I carried out a water change after two weeks and everything seemed to be fine.
Three days ago, (9 days since last water change) the fish all started to look ill and yesterday they died.
I took a sample to the pet shop and they said there was lots of ammonia in the water but no nitrate or nitrite. Apparently the bacteria weren't present in sufficient amounts.
Can anyone help as my 10 yr old son is autistic and he's REALLY upset?
Do I empty and clean the tank, start the whole cycle again with fresh water?
Do I just do a normal clean of the pump and filter sponges, retest the water before getting new fish?
Did I mess up with the water treatment? It's called Tap Safe. I changed approx 1/3 of the tank, so 9 litres of tap water in a bucket needed 1ml of treatment. Did I do something wrong?
Is it worth buying water testing kits to use at home?
Most importantly: What've I done wrong and how can I make sure this doesn't happen again?

Eric

Sorry if this has been posted in the forum before but I couldn't see it in the recent posts.
mrmmouse mrmmouse
  • Not too shy to talk
  • Not too shy to talk
  • From Staffordshire
  • Posted on: 21/9/2016 11:16
Re: Help and advice please #2
Sorry to be the bearer of bad news, but 27L is not big enough for fish, shrimps and snails maybe.
The reason your fish died is because your tank wasn't cycled,
Please take a read of this article http://www.fishkeeping.co.uk/articles ... hless-cycling-article.htm
All the answers to your questions are covered in that.
Good luck if you decide to start again.
Chris
pr6srn pr6srn
  • Just popping in
  • Just popping in
  • From Cleveland
  • Posted on: 21/9/2016 11:58
Re: Help and advice please #3