Casey Casey
  • Just popping in
  • Just popping in
  • From Kent
  • Group: Registered Users Basic Membership
  • Posted on: 13/5/2016 22:39
Can this be correct? Not far off from cycling in 3 days. #1
Hi all just wondering if you could give me some advice as I'm abit unsure.

I set my tank up on Tuesday (3 days ago). New sand, fake plants existing fake log from last set up with complete water change. I even steamed cleaned the tank and it was left completely empty for about a week. I left the filter as it was to see if it would help cycle the tank.

I have gotten the API teat kit today and done all the tests as I have never used one before doing it step by step. I didn't expect to get results anywhere near what I got. Can this be right so early in a new set up?

PH 7.6 highest colour in test.

High range PH 8.0/8.2 was bit unsure between the two colours.

Ammonia 0ppm/0.25ppm again bit unsure.

Nitrate 20ppm.

Nitrite 0ppm.

Dose this look normal? I will do tests again tomorrow and see if I get same results. I'm new to tropical fish so still learning and trying to get my head round it all lol
Thanks for reading and sorry it's quite long.
james15 james15
  • Home away from home
  • Home away from home
  • From Derbyshire
  • Posted on: 14/5/2016 17:09
Re: Can this be correct? Not far off from cycling in 3 days. #2
Hi and welcome