moodyman moodyman
  • Just popping in
  • Just popping in
  • From Lanarkshire
  • Group: Registered Users Basic Membership
  • Posted on: 24/11/2014 19:36
Goldfish fungal infection? #1
Hello All.

I have a goldfish that from what I can gather from the internet has a fungal infection. What started off as one white lump has turned into a few. His face is also turning white. When I spotted the first white lump I moved him to a hospital tank for about two weeks with Methylene Blue which ony served to dye just about everything in sight but had no effect. I moved him back to his normal tank after cleaning it and doing water change. However it is getting worse. So really just looking to find out if I call the priest or is there anything that can be done?
I have attached a picture (the best one out of 12 i'm afraid!).

I am completely new to fish keeping so please insult my intelligence as much as you feel is necessary!

Any advice welcome!

Thanks.

Attach file:

jpg  (1,664.21 KB)
18002_547389a26dc4f.jpg 3264X2448 px
fcmf fcmf
  • Coldwater Adviser
  • Coldwater Adviser
  • From -
  • Group: Registered Users Basic Membership Advisers
  • Posted on: 24/11/2014 22:22
Re: Goldfish fungal infection? #2
Hi,

He's lovely. To be honest, I can't really tell from the pic whether it is a fungal infection - others may be able to help. Some lumps, though, are completely benign and nothing to worry about - it's possible that it's one of these. Also, some goldfish do change colour over time - eg some start off orange and turn completely white - so his face changing colour may not actually be a bad sign. Has he got any other symptoms - and is he eating and moving around as much as usual ie does it seem to be affecting his behaviour at all?

Good luck, and for someone with more expertise to be able to offer their advice to you too.