loujones loujones
  • Just popping in
  • Just popping in
  • From Somerset
  • Group: Registered Users Basic Membership
  • Posted on: 8/5/2014 16:31
New baby fry #1
When i was cleaning out my tank with 3 goldfish in i noticed eggs all over the plant & filter so removed some eggs & put them in a small tank bowl, Some eggs have hacthed & im very excited about my new little baby fri :D i need to know everything that i need to know about caring for these amazing little fish! I went over pets at home & brought some liquifry, How much do i feed them theres only around 8? Am i right in thinking i start feeding from tomorrow they will be 3days old? Do i change their water? They are in old tank water which is a little green do i added tap safe to their water? Please can you just let me know everything i need to know :) Im new to this :)
loujones loujones
  • Just popping in
  • Just popping in
  • From Somerset
  • Posted on: 9/5/2014 7:20
Re: New baby fry #2
Someone please help i added liqifry to the water & it come out & stayed as a lump in the water is that right?
& no fry seem to be eating & now the water is mucky????
kayne kayne
  • Home away from home
  • Home away from home
  • From Essex
  • Posted on: 9/5/2014 9:09
Re: New baby fry #3
Hi lou

I'm not an expert particularly with goldfish fry but I have platy fry and use the liquifry with them.

The drops do tend to hang around on the surface and will cloud the water up as it is basically very fine particles. The fry often wont look like they are eating but will feed on it as it floats past. As long as they are growing you are on the right track.

Water changes should be around 10% daily with fry as the feeding requirements are 2-4 times daily and this fouls up the water real fast.
Fishlady Fishlady
  • Tropical Moderator
  • Tropical Moderator
  • From Worcestershire
  • Group: Caresheets Moderators FK Supporter Registered Users Image Admin Advisers
  • Posted on: 9/5/2014 9:12
Re: New baby fry #4
Hi