« 1 2 (3) 4 »
finnipper finnipper
  • Home away from home
  • Home away from home
  • Joined: 21/7/2013 0:59
  • From Lancashire
  • Group: Takin' a break...
  • Posts: 319
  • Posted on: 29/9/2013 11:25
Re: Tank cycle - Ammonia not dropping #21
It has to be something so at this stage I feel it would be wrong to make any assumption. At the beginning I would not have expected there to be a problem with that combination and there may well not be but all things have to be considered in view of what has happened.

What next?

I really doubt that this is going to work from this position and I think it would be a waste of time just waiting any longer.
If it were me I would make a 100% water change without using prime. Then add a single dose of biomature and test the water for ammonia and see if that one dose is converted to nitrite and then nitrate without adding a second dose.
MissJade MissJade
  • Quite a regular
  • Quite a regular
  • Joined: 30/8/2013 10:48
  • From Northamptonshire
  • Group: Registered Users Basic Membership
  • Posts: 45
  • Posted on: 29/9/2013 14:22
Re: Tank cycle - Ammonia not dropping #22
Would not using Prime kill off the bacteria, if there is any?
I solemnly swear that I am up to no good.
finnipper finnipper
  • Home away from home
  • Home away from home
  • Joined: 21/7/2013 0:59
  • From Lancashire
  • Group: Takin' a break...
  • Posts: 319
  • Posted on: 29/9/2013 17:08
Re: Tank cycle - Ammonia not dropping #23
No not really, there is very little chlorine actually gets through the system to the tap. Lots of well known breeders and fishkeepers never even dechlorinate. I always do as a precaution but there is little point in repeating the same thing which has just failed and because the ammonia seems so stable there doesn't appear to be that much of a bacterial colony present anyway.
So its worth the risk.
MissJade MissJade
  • Quite a regular
  • Quite a regular
  • Joined: 30/8/2013 10:48
  • From Northamptonshire
  • Group: Registered Users Basic Membership
  • Posts: 45
  • Posted on: 29/9/2013 18:02
Re: Tank cycle - Ammonia not dropping #24
Ok, so I have done a change, but silly Jade forgot to empty the Eheim canister?!

I have it running now, and did a test anyway. I have added no BM yet.

The Ammonia is 0.5ppm
The Nitrite is 0.25ppm
I solemnly swear that I am up to no good.
finnipper finnipper
  • Home away from home
  • Home away from home
  • Joined: 21/7/2013 0:59
  • From Lancashire
  • Group: Takin' a break...
  • Posts: 319
  • Posted on: 29/9/2013 18:11
Re: Tank cycle - Ammonia not dropping #25
So nitrite has reappeared already? That's interesting because there must be some nitrifyers present after all. Lets hope the ammonia drops now.
MissJade MissJade
  • Quite a regular
  • Quite a regular
  • Joined: 30/8/2013 10:48
  • From Northamptonshire
  • Group: Registered Users Basic Membership
  • Posts: 45
  • Posted on: 29/9/2013 18:37
Re: Tank cycle - Ammonia not dropping #26
I have added no BM yet. Should I?
I solemnly swear that I am up to no good.
finnipper finnipper
  • Home away from home
  • Home away from home
  • Joined: 21/7/2013 0:59
  • From Lancashire
  • Group: Takin' a break...
  • Posts: 319
  • Posted on: 29/9/2013 18:42
Re: Tank cycle - Ammonia not dropping #27
So those levels are residual from the filter? Anyway, yes add just a single dose. Then test the levels and wait and see what happens.
MissJade MissJade
  • Quite a regular
  • Quite a regular
  • Joined: 30/8/2013 10:48
  • From Northamptonshire
  • Group: Registered Users Basic Membership
  • Posts: 45
  • Posted on: 29/9/2013 19:18
Re: Tank cycle - Ammonia not dropping #28
Ok I added one dose. I have tested half hour later.

Ammonia is 2ppm
Nitrite is about 0.25/0.5ppm

Allowing some error as not natural light.

Do you think I over dosed? The instructions say that when either the ammonia or nitrite reaches 5-10ppm, to stop adding. Maybe I should've stopped sooner..
I solemnly swear that I am up to no good.
finnipper finnipper
  • Home away from home
  • Home away from home
  • Joined: 21/7/2013 0:59
  • From Lancashire
  • Group: Takin' a break...
  • Posts: 319
  • Posted on: 29/9/2013 19:23
Re: Tank cycle - Ammonia not dropping #29
If the ammonia is just 2ppm and it can go up to 5 - 10ppm how is that an overdose?

Anyway don't add any more lets just wait and see what happens with this one dose.
MissJade MissJade
  • Quite a regular
  • Quite a regular
  • Joined: 30/8/2013 10:48
  • From Northamptonshire
  • Group: Registered Users Basic Membership
  • Posts: 45
  • Posted on: 29/9/2013 19:35
Re: Tank cycle - Ammonia not dropping #30
Nah I mean before the change

I shall leave it for now. Thanks for helping :)
I solemnly swear that I am up to no good.