Mr_Ian Mr_Ian
  • Just popping in
  • Just popping in
  • From South Humberside
  • Group: Registered Users Basic Membership
  • Posted on: 17/2/2013 15:59
Young Paradise Fish: Swimming Issues #1
Hi
I have recently added several young (around 7 months old) Paradise Fish to a new tank I have had cycling since Christmas and all apart from one seem to be doing well. The one who isn't seems to be having difficulties swimming. In order to move this fish seems to have to move it's tail fin much more rapidly than the others and seems to struggle staying any deeper in the water than just below the surface for more than a few seconds (seems to struggle to swim deeper then quickly floats back to the top). Looking carefully at it, its tail fin seems to bend to one side rather than lay straight. None of these fish are bought from a pet shop as were all rescued from a tank they were born into, that was too small to house so many fish. As I am new to fish keeping I was wondering if these are symptoms of any illness that anyone knows of and if so how would I treat it?
Thanks for any help anyone can offer.
Violet Violet
  • Tropical Adviser
  • Tropical  Adviser
  • From West Yorkshire
  • Group: Registered Users Caresheets FK Supporter Advisers Deep End
  • Posted on: 17/2/2013 17:03
Re: Young Paradise Fish: Swimming Issues #2
There's a good care sheet here for thr fish. Do watch out for aggression though, these are not community fish and TBH don't like each other much really!

AFF caresheet:
http://www.fishkeeping.co.uk/modules/ ... sheet.php?caresheetID=203

It sounds more genetic than a treatable illness with meds, really.
Please fill in your personal profile if you are posti
Onyxia Onyxia
  • Plants Adviser
  • Plants  Adviser
  • From London
  • Group: Advisers Deep End Registered Users
  • Posted on: 17/2/2013 18:13
Re: Young Paradise Fish: Swimming Issues #3