(1) 2 »
dekahuna dekahuna
  • Just popping in
  • Just popping in
  • From Dorset
  • Group: Registered Users Basic Membership
  • Posted on: 16/8/2011 11:50
Newby needs help please - Green Water!!! #1
Hi I'm new to tropical fish keeping (3yo daughters request) and have a problem I can't get my head around.

I have had a healthy pond with Koi, Tench, Orfe and Rudd for 10 years so I understand coldwater husbandry but I can't crack this tropical stuff.

I have a 120l (80x40x40) tank which is stocked with 10x Zebra Barbs, 5x Black Tailed Platys, 2x Bristlenosed Plecs and 4x Cherry Shrimps. All of the fish are currently 3-4cm in length and the shrimps are about 1cm. The Tank consists of course substrate (3-5mm) a block of ornate sandstone (that came from the outside of my chimney when it fell off my house a few years ago and was thoroughly clean before it went into the tank) and two plants once of which is ornamental the other is I believe bristle (something?) both of which were purchased from the same supplier as the fish (put in tank 4 weeks before the fish).

The tank is unheated at the moment as the ambient temperature in the room is keeping the water at 23deg C (I plan to buy a heater in couple of months) and the tank is sited in my conservatory which is actually a lean-to type with polly carbonate roof so not too light and hold a constant temperature. I have also over specified the filter as I have done so in my pond.