(1) 2 »
Twimper Twimper
  • Just popping in
  • Just popping in
  • From Oxfordshire
  • Group: Registered Users Basic Membership
  • Posted on: 8/5/2010 1:42
What water testing kit should I use? #1
Hi there, I’m new to fish keeping (got a Shubunkin and a Sarahsa comet). I’ve only had my fish two days now but they seem to be sulking at the bottom of the tank and being a bit inactive. I’ve read this could be because of high levels of ammonia and nitrites. So I want to test the water but I don’t know what kit to use. I’ve read that the strips are not very accurate…but I don’t know if a newbi doing drop test would work well?

So can you tell where I can buy some test kits and what ones are the best (keeping in mine in a full time student so I don’t have that much money).

~Twimper
mikethorpe1968 mikethorpe1968
  • Home away from home
  • Home away from home
  • From Norfolk
  • Group: Registered Users Caresheets FK Supporter
  • Posted on: 8/5/2010 7:13
Re: What water testing kit should I use? #2
Hi Twimper and welcome to FK,

Most people here use the API fresh water master test kit and the best place to buy is on ebay as its nearly half the price, http://cgi.ebay.co.uk/API-FRESHWATER- ... _Fish&hash=item4aa0fd8b4f.

If you could provide the following info too we may be able to help you further:

1 what size is you Aquarium litres or gallons, if your not sure give us your dimensions length. width and height in cm's or inches.

2 do you use a water dechlotinator like tapsafe?

3 what filter do you have?

4 have you done a fishless cycle (read the linkmin my signature

I know seams like lot of questions but it would help us to help you and you fish
Mike <><

Fishless Cycle
Twimper Twimper
  • Just popping in
  • Just popping in
  • From Oxfordshire
  • Posted on: 8/5/2010 18:01
Re: What water testing kit should I use? #3
Thank you, I found the same kit in a pet shop. The results where as following:

Ph: 7.5
Ammonia: 1.0 ppm