• Just popping in
  • Just popping in
  • From Suffolk
  • Group: Registered Users Basic Membership
  • Posted on: 6/4/2010 10:17
Green Spotted Puffer Fish #1
Hi

I am new to this forum,

Approx 8 months ago I purchased two Green Spotted Puffer Fish for my 10 year old son. When we purchased them I was given a bag of frozen cockles and sent on our way,

We now have a problem with one of them, his/her top beak/teeth has grown so in the future he /she will struggle to eat, the other Puffer is fine

I have tried to obtain from our suppliers snails for the Puffers since we have had them without any luck, always being told to feed blood worm and Cockles

I visited another aquatic store yesterday, again I was told to give them Cockles, after explaining that the Puffers are only 2.5 inches in length and it is impossible for them to break into the cockles on their own I was advised to give him/her cuttle fish, I am no expert but I can not see how the Puffer is going to wear his beak/teeth down in a short period of time on a bit of cuttle fish

I did mention that the fish may need to have his beak clipped but he could not advise me on how or anyone that would help

Can anyone please give me some good advice on what to do?

Will the cuttlefish work?

I do have koi and I am confident to anaesthetise a koi and treat as required (luckily I have not had to do that much)
But a small Puffer is different, can they be anaesthetise? Or is the clipping of the teeth a simple task

Sorry if the thread is a bit long winded

Darrell
Coralline Coralline
  • Marine Adviser
  • Marine  Adviser
  • From Worcestershire
  • Group: Advisers Registered Users
  • Posted on: 6/4/2010 11:06
Re: Green Spotted Puffer Fish #2
hi darrell, welcome to fk!

not sure about the cuttelfish... it would work fine, if the puffer felt inclined to chew at it at all, but i cant think why it would want to!