rubadub rubadub
  • Just can't stay away
  • Just can't stay away
  • From West Midlands
  • Group: Registered Users Basic Membership
  • Posted on: 6/9/2009 21:48
Winter time plans #1
Hi,

As I am still new to fish and ponds I have been trying to read up here on what to do in the pond over winter. Various web sites give a load of conflicting advice, but the advice here on Fk does seem to be more consistent. I am still building parts of the pond so now would be a good time to incorporate anything that might help during winter.

Cover: I gather a lot of vegetation will die off so I need to give the fish more cover and places to hide?

Pump and filter: A lot of people here suggest you can leave them running them all winter (with the filter raised a little to leave the lower water stable). In a severe frost should the pump be turned off, and how long can it be left off before all the carefully cycled bacteria in the filter start to die off?

At lower than about 10?C the fish need less or no food. Does this affect the ammonia->nitrite->nitrate cycle as there will be less (or no?) fish waste?

Is it a daft luxury to have the pond heated at all (My pond is ~850 litres with goldfish and shubunkin)?

Does anyone have any other hints or tips for winter time?

Most of these questions have been prompted by old messages in this forum, sorry if you think I am going over old ground here.
fredrick_more fredrick_more
  • Pond Moderator
  • Pond Moderator
  • From Nottinghamshire
  • Group: Registered Users Caresheets FK Supporter
  • Posted on: 11/9/2009 16:35
Re: Winter time plans #2
Hey rubadub

Sorry for the delay getting back to you.

1. The fish will require no hiding places in the winter, when it gets every cold they will just sit on bottom.

2. If you can raise the pump or no less than a foott from the surface, if not move to the side of the pond rather than in the middle.