(1) 2 3 »
hammers hammers
  • Just popping in
  • Just popping in
  • Joined: 12/7/2009 15:15
  • From Caithness
  • Group: Registered Users Basic Membership
  • Posts: 14
  • Posted on: 12/7/2009 15:31
Help with fishless cycle #1
Hi All
Am completely new to keeping fish so please be gentle with me.Bought a 64l tank and accessories from pah for a tropical set up,but rather than killing the poor fishes,after finding your website decided to try the fishless tank cycle.After 4 weeks the ammonia readings are still between 3 and 4ppm and there is still no nitrite reading.Any advice as to the next step would be greatly appreciated.

thanks in advance

hammers
flat_stan flat_stan
  • Just popping in
  • Just popping in
  • Joined: 13/9/2008 10:02
  • From London
  • Group: Registered Users Basic Membership
  • Posts: 10
  • Posted on: 12/7/2009 15:43
Re: Help with fishless cycle #2
hammers,

what sort of filter did you get with your set-up? Sounds like it isn't working. I'm doing a fishless cycle right now and got nitrite readings after 7 days.

Also, what is your ammonia source?

Stan
NeuroticNoodle NeuroticNoodle
  • Just can't stay away
  • Just can't stay away
  • Joined: 27/5/2009 3:40
  • From Gwent
  • Group: Registered Users Basic Membership
  • Posts: 82
  • Posted on: 12/7/2009 15:56
Re: Help with fishless cycle #3
I noticed you're in Caithness, so I have to ask, does your water conditioner remove chloramine as well as chlorine? Given your location, I'd think that was the problem - chloramine preventing bacteria from colonising your filter.
[url=http://www.fishkeeping.c
hammers hammers
  • Just popping in
  • Just popping in
  • Joined: 12/7/2009 15:15
  • From Caithness
  • Group: Registered Users Basic Membership
  • Posts: 14
  • Posted on: 12/7/2009 16:26
Re: Help with fishless cycle #4
Hi Again
Thanks for your quick replies.First the filter that came in the kit is an Interpet internal power filter.The ammonia came from a local chemical supplier,couldn`t get ammonia anywhere else.He said it was 9% ammonia.The ammonia readings where above 6 to start with so i ended up doing a 50% water change to bring it down.Is it possible it has damaged the foam filters and they may need replacing.Secondly it is Interpet Bioactive Tapsafe water treatment and it says on the bottle it removes toxic Chloramine.

Thanks Again

hammers
TetraLinz TetraLinz
  • Home away from home
  • Home away from home
  • Joined: 30/5/2007 8:50
  • From Tyne & Wear
  • Group: Registered Users FK Supporter
  • Posts: 4623
  • Posted on: 12/7/2009 16:38
Re: Help with fishless cycle #5
What test kit are you using? Are you adding the ammonia daily? Any carbon in the filter?
T.L
Resized Image
hammers hammers
  • Just popping in
  • Just popping in
  • Joined: 12/7/2009 15:15
  • From Caithness
  • Group: Registered Users Basic Membership
  • Posts: 14
  • Posted on: 12/7/2009 16:45
Re: Help with fishless cycle #6
Hi There
I am using API test strips,am waiting on a master test kit to come home after a member on here recommended it.i haven`t added any more ammonia as the readings were over 3ppm.There is a carbon filter inside the filter.

cheers

hammers
TetraLinz TetraLinz
  • Home away from home
  • Home away from home
  • Joined: 30/5/2007 8:50
  • From Tyne & Wear
  • Group: Registered Users FK Supporter
  • Posts: 4623
  • Posted on: 12/7/2009 17:02
Re: Help with fishless cycle #7
Remove the carbon. It's only needed when you're removing medications or other impurities from the water. If kept in the filter permanently, it needs replacing every few weeks, which is as expensive as it is unnecessary.

Be aware that the test strips are notoriously inaccurate. Might be worth adding some ammonia to the tank to keep it ticking over until the master kit arrives.
T.L
Resized Image
hammers hammers
  • Just popping in
  • Just popping in
  • Joined: 12/7/2009 15:15
  • From Caithness
  • Group: Registered Users Basic Membership
  • Posts: 14
  • Posted on: 12/7/2009 17:13
Re: Help with fishless cycle #8
Hi There
Will do that tonight and will wait for the master kit and take readings again.Thanks for your help.

hammers
Violet Violet
  • Tropical Adviser
  • Tropical  Adviser
  • Joined: 22/11/2008 17:42
  • From West Yorkshire
  • Group: Registered Users Caresheets FK Supporter Advisers Deep End
  • Posts: 7209
  • Posted on: 12/7/2009 18:42
Re: Help with fishless cycle #9
Might be worth testing the tank pH too. pH can swing around a bit when cycling and if it drops to 6 or below, it can halt the cycling. This happened twice to me. If this is the case you can raise pH by adding a little bicarbonate of soda, not to be confused with baking soda. Start with half a level teaspoon and keep testing. Easier to add a little more if needed than to remove once it's in.
Please fill in your personal profile if you are posti
hammers hammers
  • Just popping in
  • Just popping in
  • Joined: 12/7/2009 15:15
  • From Caithness
  • Group: Registered Users Basic Membership
  • Posts: 14
  • Posted on: 12/7/2009 18:46
Re: Help with fishless cycle #10
Will do,should get the test kit tuesday hopefully.Will do all the tests then and see what it says.

Thanks again

hammers