Carter09 Carter09
  • Just popping in
  • Just popping in
  • From Monmouthshire
  • Group: Registered Users Basic Membership
  • Posted on: 16/6/2009 16:07
Oase BIOTEC 4 ! ! ! ! #1
Hi Guys... Can any one help! !

Im in the process of building my pond which is gonna hold about 6000 liters of water, However i've just been given a biotec 4 filter and was wonderin if its any good 4 me as im a novice at this... Its in working order but it doesnt have a uv light , so question 1 ... Is the filter suitable or should i pass it on and {2] CAN I add a uv light sum how to the filter .

Id appriciate any advice

cheers Craig
Dale369 Dale369
  • Pond Adviser
  • Pond  Adviser
  • From Cleveland
  • Posted on: 16/6/2009 16:56
Re: Oase BIOTEC 4 ! ! ! ! #2
"Boitec 4: is a four step filter and smallest in all available OASE Biotec range"

Doesn't look too great, if I was you i'd go on ebay and look for a small multibay - you will probably be able to get one cheap. Other, take a look at the Yamitsu Mega boxes, I got one and they are very good. Believe me its better to pay more and do it right first time as I have found out the hard way.

As for a UV, you can buy a standalone UV such as the Yamistu 25w which would probably be suitable for the size of your pond. Standalone UV's tend to be better than ones built into boxes.
fredrick_more fredrick_more
  • Pond Moderator
  • Pond Moderator
  • From Nottinghamshire
  • Group: Registered Users Caresheets FK Supporter
  • Posted on: 17/6/2009 12:31
Re: Oase BIOTEC 4 ! ! ! ! #3
In my option the Oase are over rated and over priced, have a look at what dale said.

Are you having a bottom drain on the pond or just having a pump to feed the filter?
Carter09 Carter09
  • Just popping in
  • Just popping in
  • From Monmouthshire
  • Posted on: 17/6/2009 18:27
Re: Oase BIOTEC 4 ! ! ! ! #4
Hi Frederick thanks for yr reply!