• Just popping in
  • Just popping in
  • From Lancashire
  • Group: Registered Users Basic Membership
  • Posted on: 10/3/2009 11:28
bigger pond /more fish #1
hi a newbie here
i was hoping to get a bit of advice
i have a small preformed pond about 180 gallon i have had it for about 4 years with 5 koi which i got when tiny and which are now 12 inches longish
and 3 goldfish
i have decided to build a bigger pond on the patio which we are in the process of now
it will hold 900 gallon when finished
a friend of ours dad has got about 8 koi 4 of them quite big
and he wants us to take them of his hands
my dilemma is that i dont want to damage my fish so
what do you suggest we have already agreed to take them
i was thinking of transfering as much of our original water as poss to new pond set up the filter etc and put the goldfish in to try to mature it also adding some bought good bacteria
then slowly introduce our other fish
then put the donated fish into our old pond to acclimatise them to our water and then slowly over time put them in the new pond
soz that this is so long but its a big thing to me thanks haze
Otter Otter
  • Just can't stay away
  • Just can't stay away
  • From United States
  • Posted on: 10/3/2009 16:22
Re: bigger pond /more fish #2
I really hate to say this, especially if you're well into the pond project, but 900 gallons isn't enough for 13 koi. One rule of thumb is 1000 gallons for the first koi, and 100 for each additional koi. Keep in mind that these fish grow to two or three feet long. They also need at least four feet of depth to be comfortable. People claim koi will "grow to the size of the pond", but it seems to me that if any animal's growth is stunted by the size of its quarters at any stage in its development, it is being abused. Now, with aggressive filtration you could stock more heavily, but 13 adult Koi are too many for a 900 gallon pond. That's like trying to raise goldfish in a one gallon bowl.