icedancer icedancer
  • Just can't stay away
  • Just can't stay away
  • From Berkshire
  • Group: Registered Users Basic Membership
  • Posted on: 15/2/2009 12:58
Platy Advice, Coldwater tank possibly being swapped over #1
Hello!

You may have seen on another thread that I recently had a complete illness wipe out in my coldwater tank. It's all now back cycling again after being sterilised, and after a trip to the lfs today my partner now fancies having some platys it in.

I've never done tropical before, how easy are they to keep? I can't find a caresheet on them. What else can you keep in with them? In the shop they had a Betta in each of the tanks, is this an ok set up?

Any advice would be gratefully received. Also, I got a heater with the tank, it was a second hand one. But it doesn't seem to have a thermostat on it. How would I prevent it getting too hot, or am I being stupid?! I am a complete beginner with tropical!
Coralline Coralline
  • Marine Adviser
  • Marine  Adviser
  • From Worcestershire
  • Group: Advisers Registered Users
  • Posted on: 15/2/2009 13:52
Re: Platy Advice, Coldwater tank possibly being swapped over #2
Quote:

icedancer wrote:
i've never done tropical before, how easy are they to keep? I can't find a caresheet on them. What else can you keep in with them? In the shop they had a Betta in each of the tanks, is this an ok set up?

nope its not. bettas have to have carefully selected tankmates if any at all.. shops keeping them in with other fish is a bit of a risk, and just shows the shop gets too many fish in to house them all properly until sold.

platys are livebearers, which means they will breeed pretty much constantly. theres a possibility of becoming oevrstocked if the parents dont end up eating most of the babies.