MossmanX MossmanX
  • Just can't stay away
  • Just can't stay away
  • From West Yorkshire
  • Group: Registered Users Basic Membership
  • Posted on: 3/8/2010 14:44
Freshwater Shrimp #1
Hello All,

I'm brand new to this - so sorry if I get anything wrong....

I've just purchased a fluval edge 23l tank with the sole intention of keeping fw shrimp (cherry red, initially).

I'm setting up tonight and will start to cycle, bob in a couple of small plants, a mossball and some wood (pre-soaked). I will also add the 'cycle' product - friendly bacteria that come with the tank set up.

My question is how long before I can add the shrimp - will this weekend be too soon? I think I know the answer, but am just impatient... o_O

I couldn't see anyone posting about fw shrimp, so any other advice or general tips would be greatly appreciated!

Thanks, and I look forward to hearing your responses!
Fishy-Fishy Fishy-Fishy
  • Tropical Moderator
  • Tropical Moderator
  • From -
  • Group: Registered Users Moderators Advisers FK Supporter Deep End
  • Posted on: 3/8/2010 14:58
Re: Freshwater Shrimp #2
Hello, welcome to FK

A lot of us do keep shrimp, mostly with fish but also on their own. Your shrimp set up idea sounds pretty good The 'Cycle' stuff unfortunately does not do anything, I have tried it in the past and the length of the cycle was shortened by a few days at best (although this could just be a coincidence). A cycle can take up to 6 weeks but it's definitely worth doing as shrimp can be very sensitive to poor water quality. It's also a good idea to test the nitrAte in your tap water because it can be quite high in some areas.

I dig the impatience thing None of us like having to wait 6 weeks! It's just one of those things unfortunately.
MossmanX MossmanX
  • Just can't stay away
  • Just can't stay away
  • From West Yorkshire
  • Posted on: 3/8/2010 15:30
Re: Freshwater Shrimp #3
Hi, and thanks Fishy-Fishy!